If “Sex in the City,” then why not “Sex at Church”?

So the local mall took down a billboard we put up in the mall. What was on it? The following:

malldisplay.jpg

Now, I’m not too sure what all the reasoning behind the take down exactly was. Perhaps there were some legitimate concerns. But for a mall that includes advertising for “Sex in the City,” Bebe and Victoria’s Secret, Abercrombie and Guess, I hope the reason wasn’t because of the word “sex.”

But maybe it was, epsecially in conjunction with the word “church.” It reminds me of an observation made by Laura Winner in a recent work of hers, Real Sex (I highly recommend this book!), about the public yet highly private nature of sex:

“In contemporary society, sex is public- moms go on talk shows and confess to slepping with their daughters’ boyfriends, Calvin Klein models expose their body parts in magazine ads. But if sex is public, it is not communal. Americans consider sex a fine topic of public disclosure but we insist that sex is also private, nobody’s business but mine and the person with whom I’m doing it. I can show you my midriff in public, and I can make out with my boyfriend on a park bench, but there is no communal grammar that allows you to talk to me about this body I am exposing in front of you. Underpinning everything else we say about sex is the assumption and insistence that you ought to keep your nose out of my bedroom… one person’s sexual behaviour is not anyone else’s concern…”

Her response to this?

“Put simply, this is a lie.”

Real Sex, pp. 46-48

1 Comment»

  David wrote @

That’s too bad. We should get a refund, right?


Leave a Reply

