Celebrity Christianity, part 1

megachurch.jpg

So I’ve been absent for a bit on this blog. There are a number of reasons for that, many of which we don’t need to get into here. But one of the factors that have prevented me from posting has been my personal struggle with what I am calling “Celebrity Christianity”- a Christian faith that gets the accolades of other people. It comes about in a number of different ways, but more often than not it follows a pattern like this: I see a peer- a pastor or Christian leader of some sort- get the limelight of the Western church world, and feelings of lust (for that sort of limelight) and judgmentalism ensue. Now, it doesn’t happen all the time, thank Jesus. But it happens enough where I am disgusted with myself, and I cannot properly put myself before the public without wanting the glory only God deserves. (It should be noted that I am in no way criticizing my fellow peers who get these accolades. They are amazing people, and I am glad for who they are and what they do).

It’s a sad thing, though, Celebrity Christianity. Because as I’ve been thinking about it, I think Jesus sees things in a radically different way. I mean, it’s pretty blatant in some of his teachings, for example:

“Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven. So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” Matt. 6:1-4

God, I don’t want to be duped.  Help me remember what reality is.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

