Finally Fireproof

topl

I have a confession to make.  When the movie Fireproof first came out,  I was a little wary.  A lot of it had to do with an aversion to Christian evangelical subculture, which is a good thing at times, but a bad thing as well- aren’t I just being like a Pharisee at that moment, a snobby religious person just like the “subculture” I am turned off by?  Oh how big our “planks” can be when we judge… (Matthew 7:1-6)

Anyhow, I digress.  My neighbor Mark- a single guy in his mid 20s who is not a part of Christian subculture because he’s new to Jesus- saw it and passed it along. And well, I am now a fan.   Its strengths include:

1) a pretty realistic take on some of the hell that can break loose in marriage- from a sex-life (or lack of) to hard-heartedness, and a lot of things in between

2) a no-nonsense approach to how, if we truly follow the ways of Jesus without making excuses, things in us can change (not necessarily things beyond us like other people or circumstances in life)

3) an honest attempt at trying to be both courteous of non-religious people, yet pretty blatant about how God/Jesus can make a difference

Again, I realize that there’s a lot more to say about it (the comments at amazon.com have quite a bit of content), and I realize that some who maybe identify as more “progressive” in their view of “Christianity” and such might find some of it quite laughable and even repulsive.  But it’s worth a look.  Props to those who have used it well- I think of my sister’s boyfriend (and potential husband) who pre-ordered 20 to give away…

2 Comments»

  Daniel K. Eng wrote @

Hey Yucan. Thanks for the shout-out. =)
Yes, excellent assessment of the movie. It’s become one of my favorite movies really quickly.
So, guess what? I pre-ordered them all, but I should have ordered more, because all the extra copies I ordered were requested (bought) by others who wanted copies too. I had e-mailed the entire church staff to see if anyone wanted to split the case with me, and they all ended up being claimed. Good to know they all have good homes. Want to split a case of them? http://tinyurl.com/d5wmjz

  Matthew Markley wrote @

Wow…karen and I are reading this and Karen didn’t know you had a blog and I didn’t know how talened of a writer you are…Siskel and Ebert here we come.
Thanks for the feedback and we are hooked and setting aside a Saturday in the future to have couples over to watch it…we’ll let you know what we think after we view it. Thanks for the feedback.


Leave a comment